How to correctly delete a double Google Places listing

One of the most common errors that occurs on a Google Places listing is a double listing. This is when there are two places pages for one business. This might happen for many reasons, but suffice it to say that it is very bad.

One of the most common reasons why this happens is that the owner of the business discovers that someone has given a bad review of that business. It efforts to distance it from it, he creates another listing. Even if it appears like a slightly different listing, it still has the same phone number and therefore appears the same to Google.

Other reasons might involve 2 or more people managing the same Google account. There might be “rogue” directories that Google then scrapes and recreates another listing. Whatever the reason, there is a right and a wrong way to delete a listing.

Here is the correct way to do it:

1. Log in to your Google Places account.
2. Click “delete” for the listing in question.
3. Choose “remove this listing from Google Maps.” Save changes.
4. Select listing again, click delete.
5. Choose “remove this listing from my Google Places account.” Save changes.

And that’s it. The order in which you do things is critical. If you only delete the Google Places account, the undesired listing will continue to populate Google Maps even though it fails to show in your Google Places Account.

If, by chance, you have deleted a listing from Google Places but not from Google Maps, simply reclaim the places page so that it appears in you Places account, then follow the above steps.

 

Be Sociable, Share!
About Local Biz Guy

Managed by LocalBizReach Find us on Google+